Voir en


Ukraine to become Associate Member State of CERN

Geneva 3 October 2013. CERN1 Director General Rolf Heuer and Mr. Kostyantyn Ivanovych Gryschenko, Vice Prime Minister of Ukraine today signed a document admitting Ukraine to CERN Associate Membership, subject to ratification by Ukraine’s Parliament, the Verkhovna Rada.

“Ukraine has been a strong participant in LHC experiments and computing over recent years,” said CERN Director General Rolf Heuer. “Welcoming a new member of a family is always an emotional moment and I’m really delighted to see Ukraine on the way to Associate Membership.”

"Signing the CERN Associate Membership Agreement became an extremely important stage on the way of Ukraine's European integration", said Vice Prime Minister of Ukraine Mr. Kostyantyn Gryschenko. "The full involvement in the advanced European scientific projects and research conducted in CERN was set as a main priority in the field of international science and technology cooperation".

Ukraine and CERN signed a Co-operation Agreement in 1993, and a Joint Declaration in 2011, setting priorities in scientific-technical cooperation. In reality, Ukraine’s relationship with CERN dates back much further, principally through CERN’s cooperation with the Joint Institute of Nuclear Research (JINR) in Dubna, Russia, of which Ukraine is a member. CERN-JINR co-operation in the field of high-energy accelerators started in the early 1960s and ever since, the two institutions have formed a bridge between East and West that has made important contributions to the development of global, peaceful scientific co-operation.

Beyond its participation through JINR, Ukraine has been a long-time contributor to the ALICE, CMS and LHCb experiments at the LHC, and to research and development on new accelerator technologies. Ukraine also operates a Tier-2 computing centre in the World-wide LHC Computing Grid (WLCG) that federates globally distributed resources to process and analyse the massive amounts of data generated by the LHC experiments.

The Associate Membership of Ukraine will open a new era of cooperation that will strengthen the long-term partnership between CERN and the Ukrainian scientific community. Associate Membership will allow Ukraine to participate in the governance of CERN, through attending the meetings of the CERN Council. Moreover, it will allow Ukrainian scientists to become members of the CERN staff, and to participate in CERN’s training and career development programs. Finally, it will allow Ukrainian industry to bid for CERN contracts, thus opening up opportunities for industrial collaboration in areas of advanced technology.


1. CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, is the world's leading laboratory for particle physics. It has its headquarters in Geneva. At present, its member states are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Romania is a candidate for accession. Israel and Serbia are associate members in the pre-stage to membership. India, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United States of America, Turkey, the European Commission and UNESCO have observer status.