Facts and figures 2013


1246.5 million CHF

Member states

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom 

Dates of accession 

Candidate for accession


Associate member states in the pre-stage to membership

Israel, Serbia


European Commission, India, Japan, Russian Federation, Turkey, UNESCO and US


Member states normalized contributions (% total budget) in 2013

Austria 2.22
Belgium 2.77
Bulgaria 0.28
Czech Republic 1.07
Denmark 1.77
Finland 1.43
France 15.57
Germany 20.29
Greece 1.79
Hungary 0.68
Italy 11.78
Netherlands 4.61
Norway 2.50
Poland 2.72
Portugal 1.23
Slovak Republic 0.51
Spain 8.53
Sweden 2.55
Switzerland 3.19
United Kingdom 14.51
Candidate for Accession Normalized contributions (% of the total)
Romania 0.60
Serbia 0.09

CERN Council

President of Council: Agnieszka Zalewska (Poland)
Chairman of the scientific committee: Fabio Zwirner (Italy)
Chairman of the finance committee: Björn Jacobsen (Norway)

CERN Management

Position Name
Director-General Rolf-Dieter Heuer
Director for Research and Scientific Computing Sergio Bertolucci
Director for Accelerators and Technology Stephen Myers
Director for Administration and General Infrastructure Sigurd Lettow
Head of International Relations Rüdiger Voss
Directorate Office Isabel Béjar Alonso
Directorate Office Emmanuel Tsesmelis
Communication James Gillies
EU Project Office Svetlomir Stavrev
Internal Audit Laure Esteveny
Legal Service Eva-Maria Gröniger-Voss
Relations with Host States Friedemann Eder
Occupational Health and Safety and Environmental Protection Unit Ralf Trant
VIP and Protocol Office Wendy Korda
Resources planning, processes and controlling Florian Sonnemann


Beams Paul Collier
Engineering Roberto Saban
Finance, procurement and knowledge transfer Thierry Lagrange
General infrastructure services Lluis Miralles Verge (from 1 April 2013)
Human resources Anne-Sylvie Catherin
Information technology Frédéric Hemmer
Physics Philippe Bloch
Technology Frédérick Bordry

Project management

Linear Collider Studies (CLIC and LCS) Steinar Stapnes
Worldwide LHC Computing Grid (WLCG) Ian Bird
Linear Collider Detector Lucie Linssen
High Luminosity LHC (HL-LHC) Lucio Rossi
LHC Injectors Upgrades (LIU) Roland Garoby


Staff members as of 31 December 2012 (includes externally funded): 2512

Other members of personnel

You are here