Facts and figures 2011


1075.6 million CHF

Member states

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom 

Dates of accession

Candidate for accession


Associate member state in the pre-stage to membership

Israel (from October 2011)


European Commission, India, Japan, Russian Federation, Turkey, UNESCO and US


Member states normalized contributions (% total budget) in 2011

Austria 2.18
Belgium 2.78
Bulgaria 0.32
Czech republic 1.13
Denmark 1.80
Finland 1.26
France 15.42
Germany 19.44
Greece 1.90
Hungary 0.67
Italy 11.19
Netherlands 4.28
Norway 2.61
Poland 3.15
Portugal 1.26
Slovak republic 0.54
Spain 8.82
Sweden 2.46
Switzerland 3.79
United Kingdom 15.00
Candidate for Accession Normalized contributions (%)
Romania 0.39

CERN Council

President of Council: Michel Spiro (France)
Chairman of the scientific committee: Fabio Zwirner (Italy)
Chairman of the finance committee: Björn Jacobsen (Norway)

CERN Management

Position Name
Director-General Rolf-Dieter Heuer
Director for Research and Scientific Computing Sergio Bertolucci
Director for Accelerators and Technology Stephen Myers
Director for Administration and General Infrastructure Sigurd Lettow
Head of International Relations Felicita Pauss
Directorate Office Isabel Béjar Alonso
Directorate Office Ewa Rondio
Directorate Office Emmanuel Tsesmelis
Communication James Gillies
EU Project Office Svetlomir Stavrev
Internal Audit Laure Esteveny
Knowledge and Technology Transfer Thierry Lagrange
Legal Service Eva-Maria Gröniger-Voss
Relations with Host States Friedemann Eder
Occupational Health and Safety and Environmental Protection Unit Ralf Trant
VIP and Protocol Office Wendy Korda


Beams Paul Collier
Engineering Roberto Saban
Finance and procurement Thierry Lagrange
General infrastructure services Thomas Pettersson
Human resources Anne-Sylvie Catherin
Information technology Frédéric Hemmer
Physics Philippe Bloch
Technology Frédérick Bordry

Project management

Compact Linear Collider Study (CLIC) Jean-Pierre Delahaye (until 30 June)
Linear Collider Studies (LCS) Steinar Stapnes (from 1 July)
European Grid Infrastructure (EGI) Robert Jones
Worldwide LHC Computing Grid (WLCG) Ian Bird
Linear Collider Detector Lucie Linssen


Staff members as of 31 December 2010 (includes externally funded): 2427

Other members of personnel

You are here