Fabiola Gianotti (born in 1960, Italian)


Member of the CERN community since 1994, Fabiola Gianotti is the first female Director-General of CERN.

Frédérick Bordry (born in 1954, French)

Director for Accelerators and Technology

Frédérick Bordry was the Head of the Technology Department before being appointed as CERN's Director for Accelerators and Technology.

Eckhard Elsen (born in 1955, German)

Director for Research and Computing

Particle physicist, Eckhard Elsen held many committee positions, including chairing the LHC experiments committee from 2011-2014.

Charlotte Lindberg Warakaulle (born in 1970, Danish)

Director for International Relations

Charlotte Warakaulle has held a variety of posts at the United Nations and was a key focal point for relations between CERN and the UN Office at Geneva.

Martin Steinacher (born in 1958, Swiss)

Director for Finance and Human Resources

Experimental physicist, Martin Steinacher held high-level roles in the ESO and CERN Councils.


You are here