Facts and figures 2010


1026.278 million CHF

Member states

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Dates of accession 


European Commission, India, Israel, Japan, Russian Federation, Turkey, UNESCO and US


Member states normalized contributions (% total budget) in 2010

Austria 2.25
Belgium 2.82
Bulgaria 0.32
Czech republic 1.08
Denmark 1.76
Finland 1.49
France 15.63
Germany 20.30
Greece 1.93
Hungary 0.68
Italy 11.65
Netherlands 4.55
Norway 2.76
Poland 2.66
Portugal 1.18
Slovak republic 0.60
Spain 8.89
Sweden 2.40
Switzerland 2.41
United Kingdom 14.64

CERN Council

President of Council: Michel Spiro (France)
Chairman of the scientific committee: Enrique Fernández (Spain)
Chairman of the finance committee: Martin Steinacher (Switzerland)

CERN Management

Position Name
Director-General Rolf-Dieter Heuer
Director for Research and Scientific Computing Sergio Bertolucci
Director for Accelerators and Technology Stephen Myers
Director for Administration and General Infrastructure Sigurd Lettow
Coordinator for External Relations Felicitas Pauss
Directorate Office Isabel Béjar Alonso
Directorate Office Ewa Rondio
Directorate Office Emmanuel Tsesmelis
Communication James Gillies
EU Project Office Svetlomir Stavrev
Internal Audit Laure Esteveny
Knowledge and Technology Transfer Claudio Parrinello
Relations with Host States Friedemann Eder
Safety Commission Ralf Trant
VIP and Protocol Office Wendy Korda


Beams Paul Collier
Engineering Vincent Vuillemin (until 30 June) Roberto Saban (from 30 June)
Finance and procurement Thierry Lagrange
General infrastructure services Thomas Pettersson
Human resources Anne-Sylvie Catherin
Information technology Frédéric Hemmer
Physics Philippe Bloch
Technology Frédérick Bordry

Project management

Compact Linear Collider Study (CLIC) Jean-Pierre Delahaye
Enabling Grids for E-sciencE (EGEE) Robert Jones
LHC Computing Grid (LCG) Ian Bird
Linear Collider Detector Lucie Linssen


Staff members as of 31 December 2009: 2378 (2335 full-time equivalent)

Other members of personnel


You are here