Bernard Paul Gregory (1919-1977)

Director-General (January 1966 - December 1970)

French experimental physicist who oversaw the construction of the Intersecting Storage rings and the beginnings of the 300 GeV Proton Synchrotron

Rolf-Dieter Heuer (b.1948)

Director-General (January 2009 - December 2015)

Particle-detector systematist and physics professor, who succeeded Robert Aymar as Director-General of CERN in January 2009

Willibald Karl Jentschke (1911-2002)

Director-General (January 1971 - December 1975)

Ex-director of the Hamburg Institute for Physics who led CERN Laboratory I in Meyrin, Switzerland while John Adams directed CERN Laboratory II in Prévessin

Christopher Llewellyn Smith (b.1942)

Director-General (January 1994 - January 1999)

Ex-chairman of the CERN Scientific Policy Committee who succeeded Carlo Rubbia as Director-General of CERN in 1994

Luciano Maiani (b. 1941)

Director-General (January 1999 - December 2003)

Following a distinguished career in Italian physics, Maiani became CERN Director-General in January 1999


You are here